PDA

View Full Version : anyone know what to do when re-installing windows?



Jules
28-10-2010, 09:39
having problems with my PC

its ridiculously slow when using any browser, tried chrome, firefox and ie

can be a 4 or 5 second lag on inputs

online gaming seems fine

also shockwave keeps crashing no matter how many reinstalls I do

spoke to the place where I got the PC and they say try reinstalling windows before doing anything else

what do I need to do regarding backups etc?

and also do i just need the disc to reinstall?

cheers

Ck
28-10-2010, 10:32
I'm not techy so I might be talking shite here but have you tried emptying your cache?

It's just I need to do it every week or so what with visiting so many pages due to doing the comps. It always speeds mine up when i've emptied it.

timey
28-10-2010, 11:52
Yes, Jools, don't believe what some "tech" tells you. They have set things to say to people which tend to be switch off and switch on again or if that is not appropriate then it's reinstall Windows. Check the web for solutions and try those, and I'd say Ck's suggestion is a good one as well. Also, have you installed anything recently that might have made a difference? Need to check these first before you try a clean install. If it does come to that then all that really needs to be backed up is any documents that you want to keep and then make sure you have a drivers disk as well so that you can reinstall all the drivers once you have it all back up and running again.

Hutchybee
28-10-2010, 16:38
Also, have you installed anything recently that might have made a difference? I would check that first mate.... I have had little issues over the years that have been sorted by a restore to an earlier date.....

timey
28-10-2010, 18:06
I would check that first mate.... I have had little issues over the years that have been sorted by a restore to an earlier date.....

Yep. I remember. ;)

Jules
29-10-2010, 08:07
it won't even let me do a system restore despite switching off avira

http://i88.photobucket.com/albums/k182/jools182/systemrestore.jpg

timey
29-10-2010, 10:35
Bloody Windows. This is why I want a Mac. (Oops, sorry)

Ck
29-10-2010, 17:04
haha You've started already :D

Jules
29-10-2010, 17:06
working ok now, touchwood

Earl
29-10-2010, 20:02
http://www.propaganda.com.au/catweazle/media/touchwood.jpg

timey
29-10-2010, 21:26
haha You've started already :D

Yep. :D

playme
30-10-2010, 09:03
have you defragged and cleaned out all your crap also have you tried a really deep scan using something like malwarebytes here are some linky for software i use
Malwarebytes (http://www.malwarebytes.org/) spyware and trojan remover
and superantispyware (sites down at the mo) spyware and trojan remover
Piriform - Download CCleaner, Defraggler, Recuva, Speccy - Millions of users worldwide! (http://www.piriform.com/) crap cleaner
Download Auslogics Disk Defrag for free (http://www.auslogics.com/en/software/disk-defrag/download/) disk defrag better than windows one